Newsletter 012 - May

May 31st 2024

Hi everyone! 👋 

Welcome to May’s edition of my newsletter! I certainly shouldn’t be short of news items in this one, given that Microsoft have just had their Build conference! 📰

I’ve also started with the YouTube videos again, and released 3 new videos during May! (see below). The podcast has been a bit slower, with just one episode released and none recorded this month - but at least there are a few upcoming recordings planned!

Outside of dev stuff - we got the tent out for the first time this year, and had a nice long weekend away with family down in Corfe. ⛺️ Very lucky with the weather too, with plenty of sun!

Table of Contents

The Podcast 🎙

Just one podcast episode went out in May, and this was the live recording we did at the DDD SouthWest Conference! There was a group of 7 conference speakers on a panel at the front, and we discussed various topics, allowing audience members to ask questions to the panel. It worked really well! A massive thank you to all the panel members, from left-to-right in the picture - Andrew Poole, Anna-Maria Wykes, John Kilminster, Rachel Breeze, Poornima Nayar, Simon Painter, Kevlin Henney. Also a huge thanks to Carl Sargunar for making this happen! 🙏 He’s one of the event organisers, and I only suggested doing this the Monday before the event! 😄

Remember to click subscribe in your favourite podcast app. The links can be found on the podcast website.

Also, remember that we have a Discord community for the podcast!…

Podcast Discord community

YouTube Videos

I’ve been a bit more productive with the YouTube videos this month with three releases!…

My Dometrain Courses

Below are details of my Dometrain courses.

Docker for Developers

This course will teach you everything you need to know about Docker and containers. From what containers and images are; to how to build your own; to security and networking; docker-compose; and much more!

Kubernetes for Developers

Once you understand Docker, containers, images, etc - it’s time to move onto the next level and learn a container orchestrator - and Kubernetes has clearly won the battle here! My Kubernetes course is rammed-packed full of demos (pretty much all the way through), which are easy to follow along with downloadable YAML files and scripts. We start with the basics, then later move on to more advanced topics like services meshes and operators.

📰 News items and dev picks

Here are my dev picks this month…

Dev Comic pick of the month

I was reminded about this one whilst chatting with a colleague, when he worked out a solution to a Github issue thread, and I suggested he post his answer to share with others having the same problem (which he did).

Please help me share this newsletter 🙏

If you’ve made it this far into the newsletter - I’m hoping that means you’ve
both enjoyed it and found it useful. If you can help me out and share with your developer friends at work and on social media, that would be amazing!

Again - feel totally free to reach out to me, and let me know your thoughts on the newsletter. And see you back in your inbox next month for the next edition! 👋

My socials…